A boat ride from river to sea at Poovar

Kerala in India is a popular tourist spot known as “Gods Own Country”. Most honeymooners head to Munnar, Thekkady, Allepy, Cochin or Guruvayur, for they are popular destinations. It has undisclosed hotspots, that are increasingly thrown open, first by, media and next by word of mouth that are getting popular. Additionally, with younger blood in exploration of adventure and solitude, look for less travelled destinations. Poovar is one such place that is climbing the popularity chart steadily.

First view from the boat

First view from the boat

A bird ready to take off

A bird ready to take off

Lined up boats

Lined up boats

Poovar, the name means flowers-poo and river-aar, rather river flowing between flower valley. This place is just about one hour drive from my home town, Nagercoil. Though my hometown falls in the state of Tamil Nadu, Poovar is the sole property of Kerala. I wish the division of states did not happen or they could have let us have PoovarL So much is my love for this place. This is regardless of my visit in the off season that left me gazing at green everywhere, few birds to count at finger tips, with no flower to welcome and fewer visitors to race with.

A fishing boat

A fishing boat

20130504_100303

20130504_094438

20130504_094149

Once back from the trip I realized how shameful I felt for not having been here earlier. Though, I have been planning for about a year now, I was on cloud nine when I made it, at some point in my short break while visiting mom and dad. My heartfelt thanks to our family friend who helped us get in touch with a local tour operator and gave necessary instructions, which is must in spite of technology. Unlike the west, India is not fully equipped with proper road signs one can easily get, to the desired destination. Therefore, help from local is always exciting, for the time wasted in wandering around the same corner is avoided.

My little one spotting birds

My little one spotting birds

20130504_100635

Roti and Paneer

Roti and Paneer

A picture close to my heart

A picture close to my heart

After having met David, our boatman, who was patient enough in taking us through the narrow water passages amidst creepers and trees that is part of this mangrove forest, we made our way to one of the only two floating restaurants. Alighting at this restaurant and having paneer, I felt special. Not because I am a foodie…..But the spectacular sight right from where I had been seated still gives me good feel the moment I visualize it. It was the Golden beach right in front of us. Am floating in the river or sea? There was this thin line of sand which looked in the shape of an earthen diya, most children draw in the school drawing books, that has little heap to the two corners while the centre being shallow. This diya shaped sand line bifurcated sea from the river and the people living around here know it is temporary come the rainy season when the sand disappears allowing sea to merge with the river and making the river water salty. “Mother Nature” is fabulous indeed. We spent a good time, with David taking care of boat and clicking pictures of us in the cleanest beaches I have been in India that is not allowed to be commercialized.

quiet beach

quiet beach

fun time

fun time

20130504_110434

view of the clean strech

view of the clean strech

Do write in to me, should you require assistance in reaching this place, I will be gladJ

Leave a Reply

